Alias Hawkeye

I like back-story. I believe all characters should have one: whether it ends up on the page or the screen, or whether it stays in a notebook or in their creator’s head. Our past makes us what we are, and I tend to believe the same is true of people who are completely made-up too. (And I have the Notebooks Full Of Crazy to prove this when it comes to my own writing. Mallory had a back-story before he got anywhere near his guns…)

Anyway, I’ve been enjoying some of the fanficesque character mash-ups I’ve found on Youtube lately.

The rules seem to be pretty simple: take a character in a film, and use other films featuring the same actor to build a backstory for your choice.

Some of them are mental. Some of them are nothing short of brilliant.

Ages ago, I posted the “David’s Initiation” video I found, which sets up STAND BY ME as a prequel to THE LOST BOYS (what did I say? Brilliant) and now I’ve got a new favourite:

Everyone is Clint Barton Undercover:

 

How cool is that? They’re all Hawkeye!

The sound’s a bit of a shambles, but frankly, I don’t care. Bonus points for the clever use of Samuel L. Jackson there. Seriously.

So cool.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

