BLOOD AND FEATHERS launch

So, Thursday happened. And when I say “Thursday”, I mean, obviously, “the launch of BLOOD AND FEATHERS and the slightly excitingterrifying reading and signing at Forbidden Planet, no I wasn’t nervous I always twitch like this when I’m relaxed. Totally.”

I won’t lie. I was nervous. A lot nervous.

You see, I went to my first ever “proper” book-signing at Forbidden Planet, to see Neil Gaiman. That was where this whole thing started – so when Thursday came and it was my turn, it was just a little… odd.

Beforehand, I met up with my agent, Juliet, who gave me the most ridiculously cool present (It involves a hip flask, whisky and – to my undying joy – Jeremy Renner. You can all just ponder that for a while.) and attempted to soothe her gibbering, twitching, hyperventilating client before we hopped in a cab to Forbidden Planet.

There, the amazing Danie, who organised all this (and whose very own book is coming out soon…), whisked me off through a magic “Staff only” door (I’ve always been a sucker for one of those) to sign a few pre-orders… and then it was time to go and Do Stuff.

I read a couple of pages from the book and answered some great questions – and then signed copies. Even saying that brings a stupid grin to my face. Seriously.

 

I still can’t quite believe that quite so many people turned up! It was wonderful to see some familiar faces from Twitter and to finally get the chance to say hi, albeit briefly. I’m just extraordinarily grateful to everyone who came; to Solaris and to Forbidden Planet for inviting me. It was genuinely one of the best evenings I’ve ever had, and it was so lovely to see so much support for the book.

Huge kudos to Jenni Hill – who turned up wearing this:

I heart this very, very much. And yes, that badge does say: “CEO of the official Mallory fan club” And she’s TM’d it, too, so don’t get any ideas!

So there we go. The book’s out. The angels are loose. Thank you so much to everyone who came to the signing, and to everyone who’s sent me messages saying they’re reading it and enjoying it. You have no idea how much it means to me, because I just can’t quite seem to find the right words. Being a writer and that.

 

Before I go: congratulations to Bridgette Roundtree from LA, who won a signed copy of BLOOD AND FEATHERS through our Goodreads giveaway: the book will be on its way to you today. Thanks to everyone who entered: we had an insane number of entries so hopefully we’ll do another one soon!

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

