World Book Night

I’m one of the book givers for this year’s World Book Night: I’ll be giving out copies of John Ajvide Lindqvist’s Let The Right One In, somewhere in Brighton.

I’ve got 24 copies, all neatly stacked up and ready to go. Each is labelled with a unique reference number, so if you get one (and this applies to any of the WBN books, anywhere in the UK) do go and register it on the website – it’s a bit like BookCrossing; the idea being to follow the books as they get passed on from one person to the next. I rather like the idea – and somehow, with vampire books, where themes are often contagion and transmission, it feels even more appropriate.

“Let The Right One In” is a vampire story, or it’s a coming-of-age story, or it’s a love story. Or it’s all three. It’s a story about abuse, and about friendship, and about fear and about freedom. It’s horrific and haunting and oddly sweet and beautiful. Whether you’ve seen one of the two recent adaptations of it, or whether you’ve never heard of it before… once you’ve read it, you’ll never forget it.

As an experiment, by the way, in one of the copies I’ve been given, I’ve hidden a quote from the classic Bela Lugosi version of “Dracula” on one of the pages. If you happen to find it, let me know what I’ve written (and which page it’s written on) either via the blog or Twitter. A quick tip: this is the book’s WBN insert page.

Look out for mini-Vlad in the corner, and you’ll know you’re in the right copy…

Happy feeding… sorry: *reading*!

2 comments

  1. Ooh exciting! How do people end up being book feeders, I mean givers? Haha.
    I think I’m only going to emerge from my flat to go to a Philosophy class today so I hope there is someone hovering around Queens in Belfast 🙂 Good luck.
    p.s I love writing/hiding things in books for people to find.

    1. Thanks – I’m curious to see whether I ever hear back about that…

      I can’t remember the deadline, but you register on the WBN site a few months in advance, and fill out a form explaining which of the chosen WBN books you want to give out and why, along with a second choice. “Let the Right One In” was actually my second choice – the first being “The Time Traveller’s Wife” but, to be honest, I’m happy endorsing either.

      Thanks to the awful weather, I want to be outside as little as possible (along with everyone else!) so I’ve already dropped some in a local coffee shop, and I’ll drop some in a few more later… and probably a few in some of the nearby pubs, too!

Leave a Reply

