Wonders & Marvels

I spent New Year’s Eve with a superhero. No, really. And try not to make comments about Other Half–you’ll only encourage him.

No, I finally got round to seeing Captain America: The First Avenger. And it was good.

 

 

So good, in fact, that I think it’s just edged out Iron Man as my second-favourite of the Marvel superhero movies. (The latter lost the top spot to Thor pretty much as soon as I realised Thor is essentially Henry V with +1 added hero-muscles and less mud… Although now I think about it, there is actually some mud going on in there, isn’t there?)

 

 

Anyway. Yes. Captain America good.

The most interesting thing about all this is that of all the comic-book heroes, these were probably the three I’ve always been the least interested in. Thor’s appeal generally only went as far as the use of Viking mythology, and I really wasn’t fussed about Captain America at all. Dude with shield, right? Big whoop.

So consider me corrected. And here’s a question: which of the recent Marvel heroes has surprised you the most? Have there been any that you really weren’t too interested in, but came away loving? What about the way their stories were handled, and how do you think they’ll fit together once the Avengers movie rolls around?

And while you’re thinking about that, I’m going to let the boys go ahead and fight it out for the top spot.

Good boys.

I’ll fetch my popcorn…

 

3 comments

  1. I am not a fan of Marvel comics, and read only DC. However, I’m not a fan of DC films, and much prefer Marvel films. So certainly Thor and Captain America were huge surprises for me. Going back a couple of years, it was the same for Iron Man, and the same even for the X-Men.

    It’s a shame that DC haven’t really got the film thing right, yet. I’m probably in a minority who don’t much care for the Nolan Batman films. I’m not sure Batman can be done successfully as live action, but possibly because it has already had a definitive animated portrayal. And the less said about Green Lantern, the better.

    But I’d put Thor and Captain America into my list of favourite films for 2011.

    1. Interesting points, Adam – thanks 🙂 I tend to prefer DC to Marvel, and I’d probably say that Batman was my favourite of them all. I am, however, a huge fan of Nolan’s, so I love his take on Batman. (I do also think, though, that his Batman films are clearly more Christopher-Nolan-films than they are Batman-films… Does that make sense? Probably not. I suspect you also have to like David S. Goyer’s stuff to really get into them – which, as it happens, I do – but he’s not to everyone’s taste!)

      So far, I’ve been disappointed by the X-Men films (although I’ve not seen First Class, so maybe that’ll surprise me too) but Thor & the good Captain I enjoyed far more than I was expecting. I wonder how much of this was down to the choice of Brannagh as director for Thor (bringing a lot of subtext to the film) or, if I remember correctly, the rewrites & general jiggery-pokery Whedon did to the script of Captain America to make it “fit” with the Avengers universe. In the latter’s case, I can’t even quite pinpoint *why* I liked it as much as I did- I just know it’s going to be a favourite for quite some time…

  2. We have also watched some movies. I am learning a lot about the Marvel Avengers and and found that I really enjoy Iron Man. We have not quite started the Audrey Hepburn series however, but I can not wait to hit play on Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

Leave a Reply

