In Residence

I like the Resident Evil films.

No, really. I do. They’re fun. Not so keen on Extinction, but they’re a weakness.

I suspect one of the reasons I like them is the fact they always have heroines, not heroes (well, alright – they have those too, but only in a supporting role): Alice, Jill Valentine and Claire Redfield don’t appear to do “damsel-in-distress”. Individually, they’re strong and tough and can handle pretty much anything… and when you get two of them together, they’re nigh-on unstoppable. And that’s a Good Thing.

Zombies tend to leave me a bit cold. They’re just not my monster of choice. So the first time I saw Resident Evil, I wasn’t entirely sure what I’d make of it – but surprisingly, I quite liked it. Even the Red Queen (although yes, she did freak me out just a touch). It’s not the most original set-up, even in gaming terms, but it has its charms.

I’ve never played the games: you’re talking to someone who thought the best bit of Half-Life was the pre-game training section, and who has consistently managed to drown Lara Croft every. single. time I’ve gone near Tomb Raider. That means I can’t exactly vouch for the authenticity of the adaptation – although I’m fairly sure I’m right in saying that Alice was created purely for the films – and I’m not even going to say that they’re particularly good, but there’s something about them that appeals to me. They’re fun, and they’re noisy and full of things blowing up: I don’t know about you, but there’s always a time and a place for that kind of thing. It quite often involves a pizza and a sofa on a Friday night. And wine.

Of course, the appearance of the man who made structural engineering look groovy has no bearing on it whatsoever. None.

So what about you? What’s your weakness-slash-guilty-pleasure on the film front? Is it big noisy explody things, weepy things, talky things or monstery things? Or a combination of all of the above (is that possible? “Cloverfield” comes to mind, but I think it misses out on the weepy front, doesn’t it?)?

I think I’ve found my pizza-movie. What’s yours?

One comment

Leave a Reply

