Dead Dog Shoe-Shuffle

You either love Polly Morgan‘s art or you don’t, I think.

It’s not the sort of work that allows you to mimble around somewhere in between.

Part Victorian Gothic, part macabre contemplation on life (and death) and part remarkable craftsmanship, this falls neatly into the Stuff That I Want category, be it a bird asleep on a book or an explosion of wings.

Instead of trying to mimic reality–and, to put it bluntly, life–the pieces are surreal, even confrontational.

And I want one very, very much.

As long as I don’t have to dust it.

Or, you know, feed it.

 

3 comments

    1. Yes, it’s bad. You will be taken to a place of correction and taught the error of your ways. The grab-squad have already been dispatched… đŸ˜‰

      I think her work tends to exact a reaction of *some* kind – and I’ve found the reactions polarise quite strongly. But perhaps that’s more down to the fact that taxidermy (and the use of corpses in art in general, as is the case with, say, Damien Hirst) can be a bit of a touchy subject. I was in Tate Modern the other day, and in the “Surrealism” section, one of the artworks is a whole-wall piece (the name & artist of which I cannot for the life of me remember) consisting of a line-drawn factory, with two (real) dead birds above it, pinned to the wall by arrows. Every time I’ve been there, it’s had a big group around it arguing about whether it’s art, or just gross.

      When it comes to Polly Morgan’s work, I like the surrealism she brings to her subjects, and the slightly confrontational aspect of the pieces. Things like the juxtaposition of a decadent setting with an animal we associate with something completely different, plus the suggested contrast between luxury and death… they’re the kind of thing I enjoy in art.

      Plus, they’re really beautiful and I can imagine they must take a huge amount of work!

Leave a Reply

