Boneyard

There was one minor consolation in the morass that was yesterday (apart from seeing Mike Carey again of course, which in and of itself should be consolation enough. I am such a geek) and that was my walk over Hungerford Bridge.

Not only was there a massive puddle–and by massive, I mean mahooosive, about ten feet across–right at the end of the footbridge, which lent itself nicely to a bit of Crystal Maze-style clambering along the railings at the Charing Cross end (I like to live dangerously, me, and it was very interesting when you met someone coming the other way) but for the first time, I spotted the skateboard graveyard on one of the piers. I can only assume it’s there because of the area on the South Bank that’s been taken over by the skaters & BMXers, and I wonder how many of the poor broken boards did their final ollies there.

Now, no doubt there’s a load of other Londoners sitting there thinking, “Umm, yeah?” but I had genuinely never seen this before. I can’t decide if it’s a lovely, touching sight or something crushingly sad: all these shattered decks, once someone’s pride & joy…

Anyway, I’m obviously not the first one to notice it, and then it turns out there’s actually a memorial page connected to it–not especially busy, but that’s not the point, is it?

Next time you’re headed over that way, stop and have a quick look–and let me know what you make of it.

And, while you’re on the subject, what else have you seen in unexpected places around London–or elsewhere–lately? I used to be absolutely scuppered by bits of wood on the top of bus shelters in Shoreditch with EINE written on them–of course, now that mystery’s solved… but are there any still out there?

3 comments

  1. It works in very much the same way as elephants.

    Quite often you will observe a herd of skateboards new to London who will nose through the bones of these deceased boards. It’s often commented ‘do skateboards have the same emotional capabilities as humans?’ When you see the sad expressions on their risers and the way they helipop with reverential solemnity around the carcasses of their own kind I think its easy to find the answer.

Leave a Reply

